Practicum @ Carter Hales: Week 3

Regrettably, I’m writing this blog entry two weeks late. Somehow, I feel a lingering sense of dread just thinking about looking back to weeks 3 and 4, all things considered. I promise these entries will end on a positive note, but I do intend to keep these entries honest to my thoughts and feelings ā€” so bear with me as I trudge through the not-so-glittery events of weeks 3 and 4.

When I came in on Monday, the studio felt quieter somehow. I realized later on that it was because Sean was away on a business trip to the US, and a few people were working from home for other reasons as well. At the end of week 2, I finished and submitted a project for VPS (Vancouver Pride Society) on basecamp, so I was left with one project to do, which was for the client Stanley Asset Management or SAM. The SAM project has started ever since my first week at CH, but because the details of the project were not too clear and the client has not contacted us, I’ve put it on the backburner.

With little guidance on the SAM project, Monday went by slowly enough. Little did I know, the next four days were going to be even slower…

With no new assignments and Sean being away the whole week, I slowly continued working on the SAM project throughout the week. I asked around the agency if there were any other projects I could do a few times, but there was not much they could offer me without Sean’s guidance. So between working on the SAM collateral, I worked on a bit of personal and portfolio work.

By Friday, I began to notice that I was actually not the only one that had few things to do around the office. Sherry, the designer who works at the desk behind me, is usually plugged in with earphones and clicking away on three different InDesign documents. By Friday, she was quietly looking at the news for most of the afternoon. We chatted and she admits that work has been slow, and says that everyone is getting anxious due to the news. Unfortunately, since Sean wasn’t here and has limited contact with everybody, I had to wait until next week.

Leave a comment